About Us

The Office of Transfer and Non-Traditional Students (OTNTS) is the hub for transfer, adult and nontraditional students and provides a unique environment for academic success at Rutgers University-New Brunswick.  All OTNTS affiliates have access to a wide range of academic programs, professional school exchanges, educational opportunities, extracurricular activities, and one-of-a-kind support services. 

As the primary advocate for transfer and non-traditional students within Rutgers-New Brunswick, the Office of Transfer and Non-Traditional Students:

  • Defines strategic direction for transcript and transfer credit evaluation and review for transfer students, in conjunction with the Division of Enrollment Management and the undergraduate schools at Rutgers-New Brunswick.
  • Leads centralized Non-Traditional (NTS) campus policy coordination, outreach and student success initiatives within service and matriculating units at Rutgers-New Brunswick to improve degree completion goals.
  • Informs best practices and explore new academic opportunities for non-traditional and adult learners. 
  • Responds to the needs of busy adults with jobs, families, and other personal responsibilities that may conflict with traditional college experiences.
  • Provides nontraditional students direct access to the rich academic resources of Rutgers.
  • Fosters a learning environment to promote excellence in undergraduate education for all nontraditional students.
  • Offers support services at times that are convenient for non-traditional students.
  • Delivers academic and administrative services for the new direct admit degree programs for adult learners offered by  the School of

Our History

OTNTS is an expansion of the former University College (UC), which was created to support adult and non-traditional students enrolled in courses on the Rutgers-New Brunswick Campus. University College was founded in 1934 with the mission of serving the academic needs of adult students. The first degree offered by UC was a Bachelors in Business Administration to a graduating class of three students in 1938. By 2006, 3619 students were enrolled at UC.  

The age demographics were as follows:

60 years of age and older 19 0.54%
40-50 years and older 490 1%
30 years and above 970 12.9%
25 years and above 1,695 48.2%
23 years and above 2,548 72.4%
22 years and above 841 23.9%
22 years and below 1,285 36%

UC continued to offer degree programs until 2007 when the transformation of undergraduate education united the four undergraduate liberal arts colleges—Douglass College, Livingston College, Rutgers College, and University College--to create the new School of Arts and Sciences. At that time, University College Community was created as a unit to advocate for adult and nontraditional students.  Currently adult, nontraditional students applying to Rutgers can enroll in any of the 12 undergraduate schools at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey.